San Francisco

SFPD Chief Reassigns Department Captains

Yesterday, San Francisco Police Chief William Scott announced that 20 newly appointed and veteran captains have been reassigned as part of the department's "commitment to effective, data-driven crime-fighting initiatives."

The new assignments begin October 21st. 

“These talented, hardworking men and women take pride in serving our city and embody the diversity of San Francisco and our department,” Scott said in a statement. “They have demonstrated their commitment to providing the public with quality service."

"In their new assignments, they will be instrumental in implementing new strategies to address crime and public safety issues," he added. 

Photo: torbakhopper/Flickr

The announcement comes with the expansion of the Investigations Bureau to include robbery and property crimes. Residents and members of the Board of Supervisors have called on police to step up patrols citing an increase in car break-ins and thefts.

This week's reassignments are part of a comprehensive plan that includes increasing the number of beat officers working foot patrols citywide that focuses on education and preventing "crimes of opportunity." Police began to increase foot patrols earlier this summer after photographer Edward French was shot and killed on Twin Peaks.

The reassignment strategy also aims to address the citywide spike in auto burglaries. A report from the Examiner revealed that they were up by 28 percent, spiking to 17,970, an increase compared to the 13,995 reported for the same period in 2016.

“Public safety is our top priority,” said Scott. “The San Francisco Police Department is laser-focused on reversing crime trends in our city by working closely together with the community and through the smart deployment of our personnel and resources.”

The reassignments are as follows: 

  • Una Bailey, Park Station
  • Gaetano Caltagirone, Mission Station
  • Jason Cherniss, Property/Crime Information Services Division
  • Joseph Engler, Airport Bureau
  • Carl Fabbri, Tenderloin Station
  • Denise Flaherty, Academy
  • Steven Ford, Bayview Station
  • William Griffin, Special Operations Bureau/Urban Areas Security Initiative
  • John Hart, Ingleside Station
  • Michelle Jean, Homeland Security Unit
  • Curtis Lum, Risk Management
  • Gregory Mar, Special Victims Unit
  • Valerie Matthews, Major Crimes Unit
  • Joseph McFadden, General Crimes Unit
  • Milanda Moore, Professional Standards and Principled Policing Bureau
  • John Sanford, Community Engagement Division
  • Raj Vaswani, Traffic Division
  • Eric Vintero, Airport Bureau
  • Robert Yick, Taraval Station
  • Dominic Yin, Field Operations Bureau/Night Captain

Never miss a story.

Subscribe today to get Hoodline delivered straight to your inbox.