And the Votes Are In!

Following up on our story about the Hayes Valley Neighborhood Association (HVNA) elections that took place last week, we want to share the results by introducing you to your 2012 HVNA Board of Directors.

According to Bill Bulkley, second year Member-at-Large, the Nominations Committee prepared a slate and members voted on the entire slate at once. The 35+ present members unanimously voted in favor of the slate. Taken from the HVNA 2012 Board of Directions - Candidates descriptions, here are snapshots of your new Board members: President: Murrey Nelson Murrey is currently the Director of Development at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. She is an avid supporter of the arts and serves on the board of Z Space Studio. Murrey also chairs HVNA's Communications Committee. Vice President: Nathan Lozier Nathan is a landscape architect with the office of Royston Hanamoto Alley & Abey. His work focuses on the planning and design of public parks, streets, plazas, and college campuses in San Francisco and the Bay Area, with a particular emphasis on issues of sustainability and community involvement. Treasurer: Larry Cronander Larry is the Chair of the Business Relations Committee. He also gives walking tours of Hayes Valley on behalf of the HVNA and Walk SF. A native San Franciscan, Larry is the Manager of the McRoskey Mattress Company. Membership Secretary: Bob Barnwell Bob has been Membership Secretary for HVNA for the last two years, overseeing a 15% membership increase each year from 134 members to 181 members. Bob is also the Chairman of the Public Safety Committee that meets the first Monday of each month. Recording Secretary: Jay Rosenberg Jay has been the Recording Secretary for the past two years. Jay is the Volunteer Coordinator for the San Francisco Permaculture Guild and one of the co-founders of Hayes Valley Farm. Corresponding Secretary: Jason Henderson Jason currently chairs HVNA's Transportation and Planning Committee. He is an associate professor of Geography at San Francisco State University, where he teaches courses on transportation and land use, and is writing a book about transportation in San Francisco. In addition, two people were voted to two-year terms as Members-at-Large: Aaron Hulme (co-owner of Suppenk├╝che) and Karen Mauney-Brodek (past President). Meetings are held on the last Thursday of every month at the Hayes Valley Playground Clubhouse. (699 Hayes)

In related news, District 5 Supervisor, Christina Olague, is holding a community meeting this Wednesday, February 29 from 6-8pm in the West Bay Conference Center (1290 Fillmore). She'll be discussing the redistricting process and taking input on how you think the lines should be drawn. Make sure you stop by this meeting (before heading over to the Hayeswire Launch Party from 6-10pm at Place Pigalle) and letting us know what everyone suggested!

Never miss a story.

Subscribe today to get Hoodline delivered straight to your inbox.

2012 hvna board redistricting meeting